RSS

Is Prep Dead?

15 Oct

True PrepAfter reading the latest post on The Preppy Princess, I really started to wonder what direction prep is going in. I guess this is my major issue with True Prep as well. One of the main focuses of True Prep is to show how prep is no longer just a select group, but a collection of many groups.

Formerly WASP. Failing that, white and heterosexual. One day we became curious or bored and wanted to branch out, and before you knew it, we were all mixed up. ~True Prep

I may not be remembering right, but isn’t one of the things that defines prep is the exclusiveness of it? The Official Preppy Handbook talks a lot about how not everybody is prep and how to recognize other preps. I think these contradict each other since 30 years ago preppies were being told to be exclusive, but now we are being told that practically everyone is prep in some form.
I was not born a prep… I was born in southwest Ohio and went to public school my entire life… The exclusiveness is one of the main things that drew me to being prep.

The importance of keeping one’s young within the Preppy fold cannot be stressed too much. Preppies must not stray. They may rebel, they may carry picket signs, but they will never lose that glow, that je ne sais quoi that makes them Prep. ~The Official Preppy Handbook

Do I think prep is dying? No. I think that the world’s view of prep is becoming more mainstream. There will always be some of us who stay true to prep (not necessarily to True Prep). I think that the prep world will go on without True Prep and stay the same as it has ever been. True Prep should be used as a basic guide to prep, not as a prep bible. I just hope that the next preppy handbook doesn’t have Hollister and American Eagle in it!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on October 15, 2010 in Prep Style

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

One response to “Is Prep Dead?

  1. PreppyPrincess.com

    October 15, 2010 at 7:01 pm

    If only everyone else realized not to take it as the bible, I think some readers are taking it a little too seriously. BTW, I am so flattered you would mention us, thank you! 🙂

    Hope your weekend is wonderful,
    tp

     

Leave a Reply

 
